Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Love this blog on everything Louisiana, Cajun, and Creole!

Jambalaya Magazine & Clothing

FLUER DE LIS

The definition of a Louisiana Creole has changed over time. There was a time when only those who could prove direct decent from a French colonist (before Louisiana became an Anglicized state) could call themselves Creole. Even though I knew my family had been in “The Boot” since the beginning of time, I felt the need to prove my Creoleness in this way. Much to my joy, I was quickly able to confirm my ancestry to several colonists, often men.

As I began to dig further, I noticed these French Fathers shared certain traits. They tended to wed later in life. I furthered my research and realized that though Creole men wed later in life, that did not mean they were expected to be celibate. This was my first thought due to the strong Catholic influences. Quite the contrary, virility was encouraged. It proved a man had a man’s appetite…

View original post 232 more words

