Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Looks like a great recipe, especially down here in Louisiana for all the duck hunters. Replace the Toulouse sausage with some good, fresh andouille if you have access to it. Give it a try!

Cooking in Sens

IMG_5961b

I think the Dog gave me this idea.  I don’t have any cannellini beans in the pantry.  I’ve got 2 kinds of hominy and chickpeas.  In addition, normally I would have used duck legs instead of duck breasts for the cassoulet, preferring to reserve the duck breasts for searing and eating rare. However, I have so many duck breasts!  And these weren’t Jean Louis’ anyway but of an inferior but okay supermarket quality.

IMG_5928b

This cassoulet turned out well, even with the chickpeas.  In fact, in was fabulous 🙂  I had a bonus of Toulouse sausages in the freezer and seared the fat from 3 duck breasts, using two in the cassoulet and reserving one for sandwiches or a salad later.  I browned the sausages in some of the reserved duck fat and also used some to saute the onions, garlic and carrots.

IMG_5911b

All of my stove top casseroles and tajines are…

View original post 201 more words

